CCB 2021 Annual Award Winners Named

Tuesday, June 1, 2021

The Directors of the Connecticut Certification Board have selected the 2021 winners of the David Powell Lifetime of Service and Joseph Sullivan Young Professional Awards from a number of nominations that were received. Although all nominees were worthy of the awards, the selected individuals stood out among their peers.

The Sullivan Award will go to Kristen Buteau of Hockanum Valley Community Council in Vernon. Ms. Buteau was identified in her nomination as a leader in several projects and initiatives in her organization and is always looking to improve her skills and the services she provides.

The Powell Award is a very special one this year, with two winners, the late Cher Shannon and Eileen Russo of Gateway Community College (and other projects). Both were nominated individually, and we felt it most fitting that they be honored together as well. Putting it in the simplest terms, both women have prepared so many aspiring professionals for the workforce through education, mentorship, and at times, with the often uncomfortable dose of reality that can be difficult to face.

We salute all three women as change agents in our field.

The in- person awards celebration will return in 2022. We hope to see you there, and will keep you updated as details become available.

View Article List

Mailing Address: 55 West Main Street, Box 4 Meriden, CT 06451

Physical Office Address: 55 West Main Street, Suite 202 Meriden, CT 06451


203.621.3111 Fax

Interested in Certification?   Click Here

Verify Certified Professionals File an Ethics Complaint